mammá y su hija

I have a little friend here in Philly (by little I mean just turned 5 years old) and I happen to work with her mammá! We both love to do arts and crafts and she is especially artistic, creative, and quiet clever! Her mammá asked if I could make a piece of birthday artwork that captured the time they spend together every year in Puerto Rico (since her mammá is from there after all). I was happy to oblige and tried to recreate mammá y su hija flying kites in the large grassy fields surrounding El Morro (otherwise known as the Castillo de San Felipe del Morro). Her mammá asked if I could try to include a pink dress or the infamous “headband” style found in many of her 5 year old self-portraits around their house.

I had to do some research about the area as I have yet to travel to the island and was pleased to hear that I succeeded in creating a snapshot of their family adventures (and outfits 🙂 ).

Although I do not have a lot of photographs for this piece, I think the story behind it was the best part of the process. I Hope you enjoy it too.

¡Adiós Amigos!

high flying kites in puerto rico!

mammá y su hija

4 thoughts on “mammá y su hija

  1. Katie –

    This is such a special piece of artwork for Sienna and I. Every time I look at it, it brings a huge smile to my face. Sienna is very proud of it too. She always shows it off when we have visitors. You captured our experience just perfectly – El Morro in the background, the ocean, the kites and, of course, Sienna’s signature headband and pink outfit!).;) So fantastic! Thank you, thank you, thank you. We are thrilled to have this beautiful piece in our home!

    Sienna is here with me and has a big smile on her face as she sees “her art” on-line. I asked her if she wanted to comment. This is what she said, “You’re a great artist, Katie, and I love the art that you made me. Thank YOU, Katie. Love, Sienna.” Sienna also asked if she would be invited to your birthday party (so that she can surprise you with a birthday card!). (So sweet!). 🙂

    Lots of love,
    Tiffany & Sienna

    • You are too sweet! Thank you for the wonderful comments :). Maybe we can work on a project together, Sienna? You can draw it and I will make it out of paper!

      I can’t wait for that Birthday care 😉

  2. Pingback: the magic kingdom | scissors, glue & paper happiness.

  3. Pingback: on the beach | scissors, glue & paper happiness.

Leave a Reply

