local students become watershed heroes

My friends at work are some of my biggest art advocates (as is evident by my first post!).  Our public relations team asked if I could help design an award for a group of students who solved a fish-kill mystery  in one of our local streams. Check out the story here if you are interested.

Since the students did such great investigative work, I decided to create a watershed hero to represent them (out of paper of course). I did a bit of sketching, cut out a handful of scales and got to work. Due to the amount of students involved I knew that giving them each of fish was probably out of the question… so I used my paper fish as the illustration centerpiece.

This was such a fun project! I have to give a big thank you to Steph for helping me out! I hope that they like their certificates when they are delivered on Wednesday because they certainly deserve the award. Let’s all hope the kiddos are inspired to protect the environment for many years to come.

enjoy! Fishy is about 4.5″ x 6.5″ and the Award is 8.5″ by 11″

The hero begins to take form

finished and scanned and waiting

Finished Watershed Hero Award!

One thought on “local students become watershed heroes

  1. Pingback: watershed award recipients! « scissors, glue & paper happiness.

Leave a Reply

